Advertisement

Boutique Brands

button

Who's visiting?

We have 400 guests and no members online

Cigar Reviews

Hammer + Sickle ICON Robusto

Hammer Sickle ICON Robusto 1September 28th, 2016

This cigar is one of the ‘gourmet series’ I received from the kind folks at Cigar Weekly. To be honest, I didn't know at first what that meant. Now, however, I’m aware that these are limited, special cigars, which explains why I couldn't find much information about them since their being introduced at the IPCPR last July in Las Vegas.

The name Hammer + Sickle (and the Moscow reference on the side of the band) made me very curious. So I started to smell the cigar, and hoped to determine the origin of the blend.

Read more...

Casa Turrent 1973

CTurrent01September 26th, 2016

It's early afternoon and time to get a review in. The sun is definitely over the yard-arm, but not quite far enough yet to justify an adult beverage. So I'll opt for a soft drink of my youth, Big Red. Now, I know some are already cringing and rolling their eyes. But I've had any number of people mention how much they enjoy root beer or cream soda with a cigar... so why not a Big Red?

This offering from Casa Turrent is the Serie 1973, in Robusto size. The '1973' celebrates the year of birth of Alejandro Turrent. The cigar features a Mexican San Andrés Criollo wrapper with San Andrés Crillo binder and a combination of Nicuraguan and Mexican Criollo fillers.

The cigar is expertly made, exhibiting a firm feel and nice heft. The wrapper is Colorado Maduro in color, and shows very little veining. Casa Turrent is proud of their tobacco grown in volcanic soil, and I must admit there is normally a distinct flavor I associate with Mexican tobacco. So I am anxious to give this Robusto a try.

Read more...

A Cigar's Tale Review XVII

A Cigars Tale Review XVII 1September 19th, 2016

Cigar name: The King Is Dead
Cigar brand: Caldwell Cigar Co
Wrapper: Dominican Republic (Natural)
Binder: Dominican Republic (Chrono)
Filler: Dominican Republic
Vitola reviewed: Premier (5 inches by 50 ring gauge)
Strength: Medium
Body: Medium
Price: $8.59

Visual

Taking a look at this dark brown cigar, I take notice of a slight tooth. The seams are tight, the cigar is firm, and I find no flaws on the wrapper.

Cold aroma

The scents coming off of the wrapper are floral, leathery, cedar-like and – believe it or not – offer a hint of what I can only describe as Coca Cola. The foot presents with more raisin, toffee, cream and hay
.
Cold draw

After cutting the cap, I take a couple pre-light draws to see what flavors I can pick up. I get notes of salt, peanut, cedar, flowers and grass.

Read more...

A Cigar's Tale Review XVIII

A Cigars Tale Review XVIII 1September 26th, 2016

Cigar name: INCH Colorado
Cigar brand: E. P. Carrillo
Wrapper: Ecuadorian Colorado
Binder: Nicaraguan
Filler: Nicaraguan
Vitola reviewed: Gordo (about 6 inches by 60 ring gauge)
Strength: Medium
Body: Full
Price: Unavailable at time of review

Visual

The milk chocolate wrapper is very pleasing to the eye. I take note of some small veins, tight seams and a solid stick with just a couple of soft spots in the construction.

Cold aroma

The scents coming off the wrapper lean more to the sweet side. I pick up notes of chocolate, leather, molasses, cinnamon, brown sugar and almond. The foot presents me with earth, peat, almond, cream, brown sugar and cloves – a very intriguing beginning, to say the least. So far, I am pleased with what is going on here.

Read more...

A Cigar's Tale Review XVI

A Cigars Tale Review XVI 1September 19th, 2016

Cigar name: Cobra
Cigar brand: Cartel Cigar Co.
Wrapper: Nicaraguan Habano
Binder: Nicaraguan Habano
Filler: Nicaraguan
Vitola reviewed: Robusto (5 inches by 50 ring gauge)
Strength: Medium +
Body: Full
Price: Unavailable at time of review

Visual

As I gaze upon the Nicaraguan puro, I take note of the wrapper’s characteristics. The first thing I see is the milk chocolate color Habano outer leaf, which is smooth to the touch. There are some small veins present, and the seams are tight. Construction is very good, as expected, since Aging Room personnel are responsible for rolling these cigars.

Cold aroma

The scents coming off of the wrapper continue to tell the story. There are hints of leather, cedar, hay and a slight barnyard note. The foot adds a few other flavors to the nose that include molasses, licorice, hay, barnyard, grass, raisin and sweet tobacco. So far, everything is coming together nicely.

Read more...

Recluse Amadeus Habano Reserva Robusto

Recluse Amadeus Habano Reserva Robusto 1September 24th, 2016

From the press release: “The Recluse Amadeus Habano Reserva is the newest blend from Iconic Leaf. With its Habano wrapper, Mexican San Andrés binder and a variety of Dominican fillers, including Pennsylvania Broadleaf, this is a specially blended tobacco flavored trifecta! The flavor profile is a recipe for delight... toasty nuts, woodsy cedar aside mellow chicory, creamy caramel, and a touch of sweet cherry and raisins. Black pepper balances the smooth flavors with a bit of tongue-pleasing bite of zing! It's a medium to full-bodied smoke with excellent construction for the ultimate smoking experience! So gather your senses and get ready for an alluring seduction of brilliantly blended tobaccos and flavor enhancements. This is a smoke to share with friends or to simply enjoy on your own. Whichever you decide, you'll be glad you've uncovered the Recluse Amadeus Habano Reserva and made it your own!”

Read more...

REVIEW: V-Gar

vgar3September 12th, 2016

Recently, I was contacted by a manufacturer's representative about the possibility of reviewing the first electronic cigar on the market.

Being a cigarette as well as a cigar smoker, I had tried several of the e-cigs on the market, with mixed results. While they provided me with the nicotine I enjoy, and the opportunity to 'smoke' in my home office or truck without offending the olfactory systems of the three females I share a home with (Disclosure: They are my wife and two daughters--get your minds out of the gutter!), I had yet to find one that actually tasted good to me. As such, I was initially skeptical of the concept of an E-cigar.

Tobacco has such a varied and encompassing taste that I couldn't see how the complex flavors of a cigar could be duplicated in vapor form.

Read more...

IPCPR: Hits and Misses 3

September 22nd, 2016

PUBLISHER'S NOTE: Our intrepid reporters, jefslat (Jeff Slatton) and his lovely bride, attended the recent IPCPR show in Las Vegas. They collected many samples from the vendors there. On a volunteer basis, these cigars were sent to readers with the agreement that they would write regarding what they did and didn't like about the new offerings from the show. It has come to my attention that a number of the cigars at this year's show were actually released last year, as pending new FDA regulations would make it prohibitively expensive for smaller manufacturers to create new blends. The following reviews were submitted by Briandg (Brian Gardner). There will be an ongoing series of these reviews until all of the material submitted is exhausted. There will likely be some overlap of some brands and vitolas, as the manufacturers provided multiple samples for review.

Read more...

IPCPR: Hits and Misses 1

September 8th, 2016

PUBLISHER'S NOTE: Our intrepid reporters, jefslat (Jeff Slatton) and his lovely bride, attended the recent IPCPR show in Las Vegas. They collected many samples from the vendors there. On a volunteer basis, these cigars were sent to readers with the agreement that they would write regarding what they did and didn't like about the new offerings from the show. It has come to my attention that a number of the cigars at this year's show were actually released last year, as pending new FDA regulations would make it prohibitively expensive for smaller manufacturers to create new blends. The following reviews were submitted by Briandg (Brian Gardner). There will be an ongoing series of these reviews until all of the material submitted is exhausted. There will likely be some overlap of certain brands and vitolas, as the manufacturers provided multiple samples for review.

Read more...

IPCPR: Hits and Misses 2

September 21st, 2016

PUBLISHER'S NOTE: Our intrepid reporters, jefslat (Jeff Slatton) and his lovely bride, attended the recent IPCPR show in Las Vegas. They collected many samples from the vendors there. On a volunteer basis, these cigars were sent to readers with the agreement that they would write regarding what they did and didn't like about the new offerings from the show. It has come to my attention that a number of the cigars at this year's show were actually released last year, as pending new FDA regulations would make it prohibitively expensive for smaller manufacturers to create new blends. The following reviews were submitted by Briandg (Brian Gardner). There will be an ongoing series of these reviews until all of the material submitted is exhausted. There will likely be some overlap of some brands and vitolas, as the manufacturers provided multiple samples for review.

Read more...

Serino Sublime XX Maduro

Serino Sublime XX Maduro 1September 5th, 2016

Having received an IPCPR ‘gourmet’ cigar sampler from the kind folks at Cigar Weekly, but with no accompanying information, I will kick off this review of the Serino Sublime XX Maduro with some quoted text.

“The strongest of the line is Maduro XX, using an Ecuadorian Habano 2000 Oscuro Maduro wrapper over the aforementioned Nicaraguan binder and fillers. It's offered in Robusto (5 1/8 x 48), Belicoso (5 1/2 x 52), Toro (6 x 52) and Sublime (6 1/4 x 54). All four blends are offered in boxes of 20 with suggested retail pricing between $11.50-12.95 per cigar.”

Read more...