Advertisement

Boutique Brands

button

Who's visiting?

We have 255 guests and no members online

Cigar Reviews

JNV Maduro Torpedo

JNV Maduro Torpedo 1June 4th, 2018

Vitola: Torpedo
MSRP: Around $5
Wrapper: San Andrés
Binder: Dominican and Nicaraguan
Filler: Dominican and Nicaraguan

I am truly grateful to be able to review this cigar, which I had heard about from a close friend of mine. I was even able to meet the owner, blender and roller of JNV cigars, Jorge Nicolls (Don Jorge). Not only is he a great cigar brand owner, but also a great man in general. We instantly became friends. Now, onto the review!

Read more...

Case Study CS/05 ‘Robusto Extra’

Case Study CS 05 Robusto Extra 1May 24th, 2018

This, my final review of the Case Study series from Ventura Cigar Company, is a write-up on the CS/05, one of 26 different blends in the line that pay homage to 26 famous homes built in Los Angeles. The LA homes are renowned for their simplistic, modernist designs and their famous master architects. The Case Study cigars mirror the homes with their simple, minimalist labeling and the fact that all were blended by famous, albeit secret, blend masters.

Sixteen of the blends are ‘Master Editions’, while ten are ‘Limited Editions’. The CS/05 is a limited edition. My knowledge of the cigar is restricted to what venturacigar.com informs me. No information is given regarding the blender’s identity or where the cigar was blended.

The Case Study CS/05 blend comes in three vitolas, respectively measuring 5.75 x 60, 5.75 x 54 and 6.75 x 52. This review profiles what I’ll call the ‘Robusto Extra’, given that its 5.75 x 54 format doesn’t fit conveniently into any established size category. Maybe it’s a short Toro or a fat Double Corona. Who knows? Full disclosure... I love the size of this cigar. At any rate, here’s what I thought of it.

Read more...

La Palina Nicaragua Toro

La Palina Nicaraguan Toro 1March 26th, 2018

In this 'back-to-back' review, Cigar Weekly's Special Correspondent, Jeff Slatton, profiles the Oscuro and Connecticut wrapper versions of the La Palina Nicaragua Toro.

The La Palina Nicaragua lineup is rolled at the A.J. Fernandez factory (Tabacalera Fernandez), giving me fairly high expectations of quality construction. Both the Oscuro and Connecticut reviewed here are Toros.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

Read more...

Blanco Liga Exclusiva de Familia Maduro Churchill

Blanco LEFM Churchill 1April 30th, 2018

It’s an absolutely perfect morning for a cigar and a coffee. This cigar has a dark and somewhat rustic wrapper. The aromas from the foot are earthy and cocoa-like, while the cold draw is perfect. My accompanying morning beverage is a Chameleon Cold Brew.

The initial flavors are peppery and meaty, and there’s lots of smooth smoke to add to the pleasure. The solid ash is a medium grey in tone, and the burn is even except for one place where I’ve scorched the wrapper when lighting the cigar.

Read more...

Steve Saka Muestra de Saka Nacatamale

Muestra de Saka Nacatamale 1March 5th, 2018

My sample sports a perfectly smooth dark wrapper. There’s a light tobacco sweetness coming from the wrapper and foot, with traces of Ligero also present. An ideal draw leads me to believe that this will be a great cigar. Today’s beverage is an Avery Brewing Tweak, a 16% beer that provides a kick all of its own.

The perfect draw affords a purely tasty mouth-feel. The retro-hale has just the right amount of pepper to balance out the flavor. There is also a nice touch of pepper on the palate.

Read more...

Hiram & Solomon Triple Review

Hiram Solomon Triple Review 1April 16th, 2018

In this triple review, Cigar Weekly’s Jeff Slatton (jefslat) ‘test-rides’ the Entered Apprentice Toro, Fellow Craft Toro and Master Mason Robusto, all from the Hiram & Solomon line.

******************************************************

Hiram & Solomon cigars are produced by David Blanco. The lineup features three cigars named for the three Blue Lodge Ranks.

Read more...

The Wise Man Maduro Corona Gorda

The Wise Man Maduro CG 1February 5th, 2018

Size of cigar: 5 5/8 inches by 46-ring gauge
Wrapper: San Andrés Mexican Maduro
Binder: Nicaraguan Corojo ‘99
Fillers: Nicaraguan

The Wise Man Maduro represents a follow up to Foundation Cigar Company’s wildly popular El Güegüense. The cigar features the same artwork on the label as the El Güegüense. However, the blue label of the latter has been replaced with a red backdrop. The Wise Man debuted during the 2017 IPCPR, and hit stores several months later in September.

Read more...

GTO Bueno

GTO Bueno 1April 12th, 2018

After three years as producer of The Smooth Draws Radio Show, and with a lot of encouragement from Cigar Weekly’s Big John, I am writing my first cigar review. If you are expecting to read about notes of white pepper, orange peel and saffron, you are in the wrong place. I am an everyday guy who enjoys cigars. So here is my review...

Read more...

CW's Best New Cigars of 2017

January 29th, 2018

Publisher's Note: This is Part One of a two-part series. The Top 10 Cigars of 2017 will be published as the next installment.

Below is a listing of Cigar Weekly's best new cigars of 2017. These results were obtained by conducting a poll of the entire membership of Cigar Weekly. In addition, the CW Review Crew has added their comments about these cigars in the Cigar Reviews forum The cigars are presented in order, followed by comments drawn from the reviews.

todo los dias#1. Dunbarton Tobacco & Trust - Todo Las Dias

"The burn is perfect... a very smooth yet strong cigar." "It also smokes very slow, adding to the flavor." "The wrapper and foot smell like coffee with a light touch of leather." "Very light white pepper." "Comparing the cigar with Saka's other offerings, it's more like the Sobramesa than the Mi Querida, but is its own cigar."

"Medium-bodied smoke and flavors of coffee and leather."

"At 2/3, it changes again to a very pleasant flavor almost beyond description." "To say it completely changes is a very good description." "At 2/3, the strength has built to full-bodied"

"Nearing the end of the cigar provides yet another flavor change that is again representative of a pleasant complexity."

"The cigar starts off medium-bodied and builds to full."

"I don't want it to end."

Read more...

Balmoral Anejo XO Rothschild Masivo

Balmoral Anejo XO Rothschild Masivo 1April 9th, 2018

Vitola: Robusto Gordo
MSRP: $9.90
Wrapper: Brazilian Sun Grown Araprica
Binder: Dominican Republic Olor
Filler: Brazilian, Dominican & Nicaraguan

When I was at StogieFest 2018 in Jacksonville FL, a good friend of mine placed this cigar in my hand. It was a Balmoral Anejo XO Rothschild Masivo. I told him that I would make sure to review it when I smoked it. I tend to enjoy a cigar even more when I concentrate on the flavor profile. Now, let's get to the review!

I took the cigar out of its protective wrapper and looked at the construction. The Anejo XO had a dark oily outer leaf. It was well constructed, with a nice vein running through it – a very nice looking cigar. Judging by my first look, I thought it may be more of a full-bodied cigar, and I was mentally preparing myself for that. May I tell you, I was pleasantly surprised.

Read more...

Case Study CS/04 Torpedo

Case Study CS 04 Torpedo 1December 18th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5.5 inches by 52 ring gauge

The Case Study line comes from Ventura Cigar Company. In reality, there are 26 Case Study blends. Each blend is available in one to four vitolas. The 26 blends pay homage to 26 famous homes built in the simplistic, modernist architectural design and located in Los Angeles – hence the simple labeling.

Read more...