Advertisement

Boutique Brands

button

Who's visiting?

We have 334 guests and no members online

Cigar Reviews

Casa Cuevas Connecticut Robusto

Casa Cuevas Connecticut Robusto 1September 25th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5 inches by 52 ring gauge
Wrapper: Ecuadorian Connecticut
Binder: Nicaraguan
Filler: Dominican & Nicaraguan

This attractive cigar comes from Casa Cuevas Cigars, located in Miami, Florida. The blend consists of a golden Ecuadorian wrapper with Nicaraguan and Dominican long fillers.

I decided to pair this ‘morning cigar’ with Starbucks Sumatra black coffee. I typically smoke Connecticut cigars in the morning with coffee.

Read more...

A Freyja Cigar with Rye Whisky

Freya Alberta Rye 1

September 21st, 2017

"Great things come in small packages," the saying goes. Tabacleria Palma in the Dominican Republic is a smaller factory, and just happens to make the brainchild cigar of Emma Victorson (wife of our good friend, Jose Blanco) - the Freyja.

The Freyja is not what you'd call a 'girly' cigar - not by any strech of the imagination. Rather, it's more like a Viking goddess - strong, smooth, comforting and fierce, all at the same time. So for this review, I decided to pair it with some Dark Batch Rye Whisky from Alberta Distillers (get the name!).

Let's talk about the rye first. And when I begin to describe the cigar, you'll know why pairing the Freyja with this spirit represents a 'match made in Heaven'.

Read more...

Southern Draw Jacobs Ladder Robusto

Southern Draw JLR 1August 28th, 2017

Cigar size: 5½ inches by 54 ring gauge

My sample sported a beautifully smooth dark wrapper, and displayed a firm bunch and a perfect draw. I sensed an aroma of dark chocolate from the shaggy foot and wrapper, while the cold draw exhibited more of a spicy vibe. Owner Robert Holt recommends smoking this one after a good meal.

Upon lighting, the initial notes were cayenne, dark chocolate and cedar. Some very rich, well-aged tobacco was also present. Even though the Robusto hadn’t knocked me over yet, it had already threatened me once. I told it, “F* you, I'm Milford!”, kept smoking, and began picking up some latte notes. The ash was a firm medium grey, and the burn was perfect.

Read more...

Drew Estate Herrera Estelí Miami Corona

Drew Estate Herrera Estelí Miami Corona 1September 18th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5.75 inches by 48 ring gauge
Wrapper: Ecuadorian Habano
Binder: Ecuadorian Sumatra
Fillers: Dominican & Nicaraguan

The Miami version of the Herrera Estelí blend is rolled at the El Titan factory, the ‘home’ factory of Willy Herrera.

Cloaked in an oily Colorado colored wrapper with one noticeable vein, my sample had a nice firm bunch. The wrapper and foot gave off aromas of leather, cocoa and cinnamon, while the cold draw of the Corona was perfect. My chosen accompanying beverage was a Real Ale Three Lions IPA.

Read more...

Mombacho Tierra Volcán Clasico

Mombacho Tierra Volcán Clasico 1August 24th, 2017

My Tierra Volcán Clasico sported a beautiful Habano wrapper with two prominent veins, as well as a nice firm bunch. The wrapper and shaggy foot were fragrant, with hints of coffee and some savory spices, while the cold draw was perfect.

The initial flavors came mostly from the wrapper and shaggy foot, and were very smooth.

Read more...

A.J. Fernandez Enclave Broadleaf Robusto

AJ Fernandez Enclave Broadleaf Robusto 1September 11th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5 inches by 52 ring gauge
Wrapper: Connecticut Broadleaf
Filler leaves: Nicaraguan

New as of this summer, A.J. Fernandez has released a broadleaf version of the Enclave.

My review sample exhibited a very smooth and dark wrapper with the expected sweet aroma of broadleaf, while the foot gave off light cocoa and leather scents. Overall, construction looked and felt excellent, with the cigar showing a nice firm bunch and a great cold draw. My morning accompanying beverage was a fresh-roasted Torquino/Serrano blend of coffee.

Read more...

1502 Black Gold ‘Double’ Review

1502 BG 1August 14th, 2017

This is a special review for me, and I hope it will be for you too. Why is this review so noteworthy for me? As someone residing in a small country, the Netherlands, I’ll admit that I only have a limited number of 1502 cigars at home (including a sampler pack).

This review profiles a pair of cigars from the 1502 Black Gold line – the Corona and the Toro. Suffice it to say that I was anxious to see how these two vitolas compared in terms of strength and flavor.

Read more...

Hamlet 25th Year Master of Tobacco Robusto

Hamlet 25th Year Robusto 1September 7th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5½ inches by 50 ring gauge
Wrapper: Ecuadorian Habano
Binder: Pennsylvanian Broadleaf
Filler: Nicaraguan & Honduran

This is the second blend issued by Hamlet Paredes since he joined the Rocky Patel family.

The Robusto displayed a smooth medium-toned wrapper with a nice firm bunch. Both the wrapper and foot gave off a light nutty aroma, and the cold draw was perfect. My chosen beverage to accompany the cigar was a Karbach Love Street Kolsch, brewed in Houston.

Read more...

Muestra de Saka Exclusivo

Muestra de Saka Exclusivo 1July 6th, 2017

Size of cigar: 6 inches long by 52 ring gauge

(The blend of tobaccos used in the Muestra de Saka Exclusivo varies from batch to batch.)

The smooth, oily capa of my Exclusivo emits a mocha-like fragrance, with mostly cappuccino-latte notes coming from the foot. This vitola feels somewhat heavy, and has an excellent bunch and a perfect cold draw. I’ve heard lots about this cigar from smokers as well as from Steve Saka, so let's see what ol' Joe Bob thinks.

Read more...

Nat Sherman Sterling Short Robusto

Nat Sherman Sterling Short Robusto 1August 31st, 2017

Nat Sherman unveiled the Sterling at the 2013 IPCPR show as the 4th cigar line introduced under Michael Herklots (following on the heels of the 1930, and Timeless Dominican and Nicaraguan). The Sterling was blended as a mild cigar, which concentrated more on balance and flavor rather than on sheer strength.

The Short Robusto, which I’m reviewing here, is a new vitola to the line. The shortened Robusto format now seems to be the hot size in cigars. The Sterling adds a milder bodied cigar in the lineup, as the 1930 and both versions of the Timeless are medium to full-bodied. Let’s take a look at the specs.

Read more...

Cigar Factory Social Club Robusto

Cigar Factory Social Club Robusto 1June 26th, 2017

The Cigar Factory Social Club Robusto is a 54 ring gauge by 4¾ inches long cigar, rolled with Brazilian and Nicaraguan filler. My sample sported a chocolate brown, Brazilian Maduro wrapper. (A version with a Connecticut Natural/Ecuadorian outer leaf is also offered.) The wrapper had a nice glimmer to it, with a few harmless veins present and a perfectly placed cap.

Read more...